Giving up Back-Up Plans

I need to give up having back-up plans.

There.

I said it.

OUT LOUD.  *Resists strong urge to insert a Twilight joke here*settles for posting an image.*Twi

It feels weird to admit that I’m giving up back-up plans. Anyone that knows me has probably heard me say something along the lines of, “If *this* then *that* and if *that* then *this*.” And surely, you might say, this sounds a lot like setting up a back-up plan.

And you might be right.

But recently, I realized something. Having a back-up plan sounds suspiciously like I’m planning for failure. And essentially in planning for A to fail, I’m setting up my own expectations as such. In making a plan B, plan A doesn’t really have a chance to succeed. Telling the universe that I expect to fail in plan A, why would the universe think I want plan B to succeed either? For that matter, why would the universe think I expect to succeed at all? Which is why I’m giving up on all back-up plans!

Now, you might be saying something along the lines of, “Are you sure it’s a good idea to put so much weight into one plan? There are so many obstacles that are not in your control. How do can you possibly account for every potential obstacle in one plan?” And you’d be right again because you are so smart. *I’m super glad I have smart friends*

forkInstead of making a back-up plan, I’ve decided to set upon a path and leave a few forks in the road. But I won’t give up on the original path. My destination won’t be swayed. Now, I can let myself meander along the path, take a fork in the road when I have to and not get stuck by those pesky obstacles I have zero to little control over. Forget the back-up. I’m picking my destination and staying on the path, no matter how it meanders or which fork I have to take. I will go around every obstacle, leap every hurdle and push through any barrier because that destination is mine.

…..THAT DESTINATION IS MINE.

KT-Fierce Face

One part Kira Decker and one part Toni Cross who share some brain cells to write stories together.

Posted in Uncategorized

Let us know what you think!

