In the Shadow of Pride Release Review

K and I are going to try something new today. We’ve both read an advanced copy of a book and have decided to review it, tag-team style. So here goes…

In the Shadow of Pride by Nancy C. Weeks.
Releases July 21st. (which just so happens to be TODAY!)

Nancy.PrideLexie Trevena buried her murdered husband, discovered he had cheated on her, and signed to adopt his newborn son—all before noon. ~toni: way to kick a girl while she’s down~ Now she just wants to raise her child in a loving, supportive home she never had. The last thing she needs is another man to complicate her life, but her best friends feel differently. Their matchmaking meddling accidentally places Lexie smack in the path of a terrorist who intends to use her as his pawn. The only person who can help her is the FBI agent she holds responsible for her husband’s death.
 
Special-Agent-In-Charge Lucas (Mac) McNeil ~toni: he can be in charge of me if he wants~ watched his best friend and partner marry a woman he knew was too good for him, but did nothing to stop the wedding. He stood by as Lexie adopted the cheating jerk’s son. But when someone goes to great lengths to make it appear that Lexie is responsible for launching a drone into the home of a prominent Texas senator, Mac’s conscience finally speaks up, and he fights for Lexie’s freedom … even though all the evidence leads to her door, and she has never given him a reason to trust her.
 
Can Lexie and Mac find the courage to forgive and trust, or will their pride stand in the way of love, allowing terrorists to bring another devastating attack onto United States soil?

Down to the nitty gritty:

(Kira) I LOVE the character of Lexie. In the beginning of the book she gets her world ripped apart with the death of her husband, but it doesn’t stop her. No way, not her. Lexie is tough as nails and although you feel her doubt and vulnerability, you never once see her as weak character. Then there is “Mac” McNeil. Talk about hot. You feel the chemistry between him and Lexie every time they are together. Mac has a temper and I love that he’s flawed with something that is so real. Besides, he gets all hot and sexy when Lexie trips his buttons. How about you T?

(Toni) I LOVE my heroes hot and bothered and Special-Agent-In-Charge (seriously, I love this nickname no matter how long it takes me to say or type) McNeil delivers on both counts. So much so, sometimes Lexi doesn’t know how to handle him or their situation which makes several scenes between them all sorts of heavy attraction but trying to hide it awkward and I’m okay with that kind of sexy awkward. In all honesty, it’s my favorite kind of awkward. K, what did you think about that twist that happens and then…(What? Like I’m gonna post a spoiler?)

(Kira) *laughs* The twist was fantastic. To think that if Mac had— *slaps hand over my mouth* Phew, that was a close one. I can’t wait for people to read this story so that I can jump up and down and point. Yes, THAT! The suspense flowed so well with the romance and just when I thought I might have it figured out (Remember, I kinda had a sneek peek into this story), the story goes and flips me around. I remember reading that section and not being able to put the book down. T, what was your Favorite part? And no you can’t name all the sexy kissing scenes with Special-Agent-In-Charge (Okay, that is fun to write…and imagine) McNeil as one.

(Toni) Fine. I won’t meld all those kissing scenes into one. Because why the hell would I want to? Each one deserves recognition on its own. To be read. And savored. And read again. Especially that first one.  The entire time I was all…wait, he can’t kiss her now…and my body was all…oh yes he can. Anytime. So yeah, maybe that one was my favorite. ::sigh::

Overall:
(Toni) This is Nancy’s best work to date. All of her stories are fun-filled and suspenseful but also feature swoon-worthy heroes and kick ass heroines. You won’t be sorry spending a couple of hours with Lexi and Special-Agent-In-Charge (of whatever he wants to take charge of uh-hmmm) McNeil.

(Kira) I too agree this is Nancy’s best book yet. I got a sneak peek into this story when it was just a wee plot outline. I love seeing the changes she incorporated and how well they all came together into a kick-ass story that will keep you reading until the late hours of the night.

Author Bio:
Nancy C. Weeks lives in suburban Maryland with her husband of more than thirty years. With her two grown children out of the nest, she loves spending her days on her deck writing as the local bird population keeps her company.

Go check out her books today! You won’t be sorry.

One part Kira Decker and one part Toni Cross who share some brain cells to write stories together.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in New Releases

Let us know what you think!

