Like A Virgin Contest-Getting to Know You Blog Hop

Hello Friends new and old.

Recently we entered the Like a Virgin Pitch Contest and have made it into the first round of judging which will take place April 21-23. Prior to that we are inviting people to get to know us a little better. A first peek shall we say.

Who is Toni Decker? Toni Decker is made up of one part Toni Picker, one part Kira Decker and one part shared brain cells which allow us to collaborate and co-author a variety of New Adult romance stories. Since I seem to have the brain cell today (and a better internet connection), I get to post the answers to the Like a Virgin “Getting to Know You” Questions.

So hop on and enjoy some of Toni’s and my “firsts”.

 

  1. How do you remember your first kiss?

Kira: *Laughs* Fondly, but with embarrassment. We bumped noses. His name was Timothy and we were both in kindergarten. I spent the rest of the day listening to the other kids singing the kissing song. But he was so worth it!

Toni: Sweaty? His name was Adam. He had dark hair and blue eyes and to this day that is my favorite combination, but don’t tell my husband. I remember Adam had braces and he’d skated to my house just to kiss me, so he was kind of smelly and sweaty. But apparently fourteen year old me didn’t care. He was cute and it was actually kind of sweet.

 

  1. What was your first favorite love song?

Kira: Journey’s Open Arms *sighs* Even to this day it brings back some wonderful “first” memories. *Daydreams* Now wondering why this song is not in my romance playlist.

Toni: Somebody by Depeche Mode Loved this song so much I made an entire tape (as in cassette, not duct) with that single song. On both sides. I remember driving my everyone insane whenever they rode in my care because I would play the tape nonstop. 

 

  1. What’s the first thing you do when you begin writing for the day?

Kira: I find music to fit the scene or mood I want to create. I have a bunch of different playlists saved. Sometimes it’s just one song, sometimes it’s a selection. Music is my muse when I write. Whenever I get stuck on a scene, I’ll go find a new piece. Almost always breaks me out of a writing block. Oh and Dr. Pepper. MUST have Dr. Pepper.

Toni: Coffee. And then more coffee. Granted it’s usually some ridiculous hour like five a.m. and my insomnia has kicked in so the coffee is an absolute necessity. Then I generally read the last line from the day before and go from there. Did I mention the coffee?

 

  1. Who’s the first writer who truly inspired you to become a writer?

Kira: I have to choose just one? Wow, okay. Anne McCaffrey and Kathryn Kurtz (I know that’s two. I can’t choose between them.) They both inspired me for different reasons and at different times of my life. I loved their worlds and the strength of their characters, as well as, the interconnection of the characters’ lives with one another. How decisions by one character affected others, sometimes even without the first character realizing how. I love that.

Toni: I’m not sure it was a writer that first inspired me to write. I think it was actually Georgia O’Keefe. I was somewhat obsessed with her art in high school, constantly trying to determine what story she was trying to tell with her paintings. The colors are vibrant and alluring and I can’t look away from them. I love all her paintings so much, Santa Fe is at the top of my list of favorite places.

 

  1. Did the final revision of your first book have the same first chapter it started with?

Kira: Not even close. What started out as the first two chapters of my first book, became their own story. I think those original chapters ended up in the latter half of act two. Learning where your story really starts has been the most difficult lesson for me to master.

 Toni: Not at all. I’m not sure the first chapter in the first or last draft even share any words, much less sentences.

 

  1. For your first book, which came first: major characters, plot or setting?

Kira: Definitely the characters. They were rather pushy in wanting to share their first meetings with readers. The setting and plots evolved numerous times before finally settling down. Only the characters stayed the same. A Pantser at heart, my characters drive all my stories. My other half (point to Toni) is the one who makes me do that plotting thing.

Toni: It all started with an image, so honestly, they all came together. The main heroine, where she was sitting and what she was doing, all in one single image. Little did I know, that scene didn’t occur till halfway through the book.

 

  1. What’s the first word you want to roll off the tip of someone’s tongue when they think of your writing?

Kira: Captivating. I want to reel in the reader and never let go.

Toni: Unputtdownable. I want someone to pick up my book and not want to put it down.

 

Hope you learned a little about Toni and I. Get to know the other entrants, Guest Stars, and judges. And don’t forget our wonderful hosts, Rhianna and Kristina who are doing all the hard work! (Thanks you two)

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

One part Kira Decker and one part Toni Cross who share some brain cells to write stories together.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in BtI, Writing
