See Jane Plot Board

In January, Kira and I attended our monthly MRW (Maryland Romance Writers) meeting excited to learn about plot boarding. Ok, Kira was far less excited than I. Far less. Actually, not true. Finding an organizational method that complemented my (Kira) pantser style of writing was incredible exciting.  I’m the plotter on this writing team and she lives by the seat of her pants through and through. (Though I think she secretly loves plotting and I enjoy winging it more than either of us are willing to admit in mixed company. Will neither confirm nor deny this statement. It’s our secret.) Except this workshop was different. It resonated with both of us. This method allowed my need for a road map to the story to be displayed in a way that her panster mind could wrap itself around. Our friend Misty took what we were taught a step further and translated this plot boarding method into a spreadsheet. So behold…. RF in a plot boarding spreadsheet.

PlotBoarding2

Now, I’m not going to get into the specifics of this method, as so many people before me have written about it, and done a far better job than I could do it justice. But in short, this is our current WIP through to the midpoint. It’s incomplete because we’re still actively plotting RF (Fingers crossed that by the time this post goes live, this statement is no longer true.) Some final touches needed, but yes, the story is (I’ll even say the word to make Toni happy) PLOTTED.  But this shows enough to give you a view of our story. Each color represents a story line we’re following and this way we know that each chapter carries one of those story lines, or all of them when necessary, and that they’re woven throughout the entire story. And so far, it works for us as a writing team. *nods in agreement*

A valuable Plot Boarding source would have to be Diana Peterfreund’s blog on the subject.

Panster or Plotter, what methods have you found that work for you?

One part Kira Decker and one part Toni Cross who share some brain cells to write stories together.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in plotboarding, RF, WIP
